Cookies ussage consent

Our site saves small pieces of text information (cookies) on your device in order to deliver better content and for statistical purposes. You can disable the usage of cookies by changing the settings of your browser. By browsing our site without changing the browser settings you grant us permission to store that information on your device.

Broadband all dielectric high refractive index metamaterials in the terahertz region



  1. The Faculty of Information Science and Technology, Ningbo University, Ningbo, 315211, China
  2. Institute of Optoelectronic Technology, China Jiliang University, Hangzhou 310018, China


We design an all-dielectric broadband terahertz-band high-refractive metamaterial sensor. The structure is composed of a single-layer square column structure based on ultra-high dielectric constant materials, and exhibits a square periodic arrangement. The S-parameter inversion algorithm calculates that the effective refractive index is above 15 in the 2.48THz ~ 2.97THz band, and the peak value is above 16. At the same time, we reveal the effects of cell size, cell height, period, etc. on the effective permittivity, permeability, impedance, refractive index, and frequency bandwidth of the structure and their changing trends. We further propose a metamaterial structure with four square pillars of different sizes within the unit structure. The effects of square pillar size, square pillar height and cell base height on the effective refractive index of the metamaterial structure were studied respectively. This square-pillar composite structure metamaterial has more degrees of freedom, and can control the effective refractive index of the metamaterial, and the peak refractive index can reach more than 18.


Metasurface, Splitter, Encoding.


YANYAN DONG, CHENXIA LI, XUFENG JING, JIANPING HU, Broadband all dielectric high refractive index metamaterials in the terahertz region, Optoelectronics and Advanced Materials - Rapid Communications, 17, 9-10, September-October 2023, pp.364-380 (2023).

Submitted at: May 3, 2023

Accepted at: Oct. 9, 2023